Home » About


The Technology Management Center (TMC) of the University of the Philippines (UP) in Diliman was formally established through a resolution approved by the UP Board of Regents on 23 February 1995.The TMC is mandated to serve two fundamental purposes:

  • To respond to the recognized urgent need of firms and industries for technology upgrading, productivity improvement, and enhanced global competitiveness.
  • To respond to the established requirements of the Philippine government for expert advice and assistance on science and technology policy analysis and formulation; technology forecasting, planning, and assessment; R&D management; and program and project management.

The TMC is the first institution of its kind in the Philippines and in the ASEAN region, being an interdisciplinary undertaking where it draws from the expertise, experience and perspectives of nine UP Diliman units affiliated with the Center, namely, the:

The TMC is directly attached to the Office of the Chancellor of UP Diliman for administrative supervision and program coordination. Assisting the Chancellor in the administration of the Center is the TMC Coordinating Council composed of the deans and directors of the affiliated UP Diliman units. The day-to-day management of the Center is the responsibility of the Executive Director, assisted by the Deputy Director.

The pioneer faculty of the Center are as follows:

  • Professor Ma. Joy Abrenica
  • Professor Edgardo Atanacio
  • Professor Olivia Caoili
  • Professor Rolando Dayco
  • Professor Emmanuel de Dios
  • Professor Fortunato de la Pena
  • Professor Jose Magpantay
  • Professor Marino Mena
  • Professor Ma. Nimfa Mendoza
  • Professor Epictetus Patalinghug
  • Professor Roger Posadas
  • Professor Nestor Raneses
  • Professor Temario Rivera
  • Professor Rafael Rodriguez
  • Professor Jose Tabbada
  • Professor Cesar Tapia
  • Professor Gwendolyn Tecson
  • Professor Helen Valderrama
  • Professor Elvira Zamora